Steel Magnolias meets biology lab…

so the next big project I am working on is a Mouse cake…Ace of Cakes Style

Requirements:  (you can’t make this stuff up)

  • Must feed 20 people
  • Red Velvet Cake
  • Gray frosting
  • Removable eyeballs

The girl I am making it for is having this for a biology work party.  I guess they use a lot of mice in experiments, (I don’t judge ok…) but I guess they wanted to do a Steel Magnolias homage and have it resemble the armadillo they had at the wedding.

I’ve done some interesting cakes before such as Bender (Futurama), Hello Kitty, Jack Skellington (Nightmare Before Christmas), and a Taxi Cab;  but this will truly be a first.  (Below you can see my Hello Kitty cake & my Taxi Cab Cake.)

So far I have just planned out the materials and calculated cost (TBA), but I truly can’t do any work on it until a couple of days before.  Can’t quite figure out the eyeballs.  Everyone has been telling me that I should do something prefab, but I really want to try some peanut butter bon bons…think that should work nicely and come out with the desired result.

Ahhh the morbid & creative side in me should have a lot of fun with this one.  The hard part will be the fondant.  I use a really good recipe… found here (http://whatscookingamerica.net/PegW/Fondant.htm)  This site is awesome & really comes out with a nice and good tasting frosting, unlike the prefab fondant stuff you can buy.  The hard part will be dyeing it gray…to get the right shade you practically have to mix in 1/2 a regular bottle of black food coloring.  It really does a number on my hands…not to mention the workout you have to do to get it all mixed. I am sure it will be worth it…

I guess I just have to remember to actually take pictures this time.  I am so into getting the product to the right people, that I usually just deliver & collapse.

Oh well, wish me luck…this one should be interesting.

Leave a comment